17. juni

MARIAFESTDAGENE 2018 - Åpningskonsert med russisk-fransk mestercellist



Kjøp billetter / Buy tickets online

Billetter selges også ved døren fra kl. 19.30
Tickets available at the entrance from 19.30

Mark Drobinsky born in Baku, and studied with Mstislav Rostropovich at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow. He was awarded the first prize at the International Competition of Munich. He taught at the Gnessine Institute and left the USSR in 1974 to go to Israel before finally setting down in Paris.

Mark Drobinsky has been a guest performer at the most prestigious festivals. He has been hailed by the critics as one of the masters of the cello. Although he has a firm hold on the classical repertory, he also passionately interested in discovering new works, and is an ardent champion of 20th-century music.

M. Drobinsky is playing an Italian cello made by Carlo Antonio Testore in 1748.


Karstein Askeland studied church music at the Bergen Music Conservatory. He then studied organ performance with Prof. Edgar Krapp at the Academy of Music in Frankfurt am Main, where he played his diploma examination in 1985, and his concert examination two years later.

Askeland played his debut concert at Oslo Concert Hall in 1986. Since then he has performed throughout Europe, and in Russia, the USA, and South America.

Askeland was employed as organist in Bergen in 1987, and became Music Director at St. Mary’s Church in 2001. From 2010 until 2015 he was organist at Bergen Cathedral. He is Adjunct Professor of organ at the Grieg Academy of Music, University of Bergen. His work as an organ consultant has resulted in several instruments that have been the subject of much professional interest.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1759):
Passacaglia, C Minor (BWV 582)

Fra Suite nr. 5 for cello solo, c-moll
(BWV 1011)
- Preludium
- Sarabande
- Gigue

Sonata in D for cello og orgel (BWV 1028)
- Adagio
- Allegro
- Andante
- Allegro

Paul Huber (1918-2001):
Meditation for Cello and Organ

Arthur Honegger (1892-1955):
Two pieces for Organ solo (1917)
- Fugue
- Choral

Moisey Weinberg (1919-96):
Sonate nr. 1 for cello solo (opus 72)
- Adagio
- Allegretto
- Allegro molto

Ernest Bloch (1880-1959): 
Fra Baal Schem
- Nigun

  • Mariakirken
  • søndag 17. juni
  • 20:00
  • 150 / Familie: kr. 300